A Model Photographer

While yesterday I went for the obvious joke, today I want to say that what truly amuses me about my photographer friend’s first semi-nude photo shoot is just how much it flies into the face of the stereotypes of the photography/modeling world.

The stereotype:  All photographers are . . . overeager (to put it politely) to get their models to remove their clothing.

The truth in this case:  Not only had my friend actually turned down two prior model requests for nude shoots, citing his lack of experience with such things, he snapped at one model for automatically (and somewhat snottily) providing her rates for nude shoots via the introduction of, “And to answer your next question . . .” when that was most decidedly not the next question.

So in other words, his agreeing to do a semi-nude shoot was a big deal for him, and despite his love of the female form, it was difficult for him at times.

For instance, whenever the model removed or replaced her top, he averted his eyes because that’s what his sense of politeness told him was appropriate, and the fact that he took approximately 150 pictures of her not wearing said top didn’t change that sense for him at all, which I find as amusing as it is endearing.

So this candle is for him, for that, and for understanding why I felt perfectly free to make a joke at his expense without consulting him, but felt the need to ask his permission before I said something nice.

Tags: , , ,


