Straight Talk (Part Three)

Are there situations where a gun is the tool needed for the job?

Sadly, yes, because like it or not (and I don’t), there are situations where it’s kill or die, for instance, and anyone betting on me being a pacifist in those situations is running the risk of losing that bet, but let us not try to mask what a gun is with pretty sounding words.

A gun is a tool designed to kill.

If I see someone walking around with a hammer, I’m going to tend to assume they’re looking to use it on a nail, or at the very least that they feel the need to be prepared to deal with a nail at a moment’s notice.  And if I find myself  talking with someone who spends all their spare time in hammer shops, talks about hammers all the time, and has more hammers than any one human being is ever going to need in their lifetime, I’m going to keep a very close eye on that person.

Maybe that person is a trained and skilled carpenter who’ll only use their hammer in the course of legitimate jobs, and maybe they’re not, but until I’m damn sure I know what kind of person I’m dealing with, I, as a private citizen, am never going to turn my back on them.

Period.

Tags:


