As Promised

Yesterday I mentioned there was a story behind this thought, so here it is:

L. had asked me if we could go to the park so he could go down the slide, and after thinking about it for a moment, I said yes and started to get him ready to go.  This took a little extra time since I was specifically looking for the long-sleeved shirt and sweat pants he had worn to the park the other day, and eventually asked for help in locating them.

“It’s not cold enough to need them, is it?” L’s mother asked.

“No,” I replied.  “But it’s not too hot for them either, and what he really wants to do is slide down the slide.  They’re perfect for sliding without getting stuck halfway down.”

L’s mother just looked at me in a way I interpreted as a mix of mild astonishment and moderate amusement.

“What I can say?” I rhetorically asked with a shrug.  “As a veteran child myself, I know these things.”

Tags: , ,


