Who Can Tell? (Part Four)

It was nothing major, just a followed link after seeing a request to look at a creative project, and if I liked what I saw, to let people know to help out the creators.  Fortunately this was an open Internet request, not one put to me personally, because I didn’t like what I saw, and by keeping the details vague enough, I can give my honest reaction without hurting anyone’s feelings or their project.   I found it, in short, heartbreakingly bad, because there was obvious love and creativity in this project, and if it had been done by ten-year-olds, it would have been endearing.  As it was, it reminded me of a community theater play I saw years ago.  Now I know many community theater plays are very good, but this particular one simply wasn’t; I had literally seen a middle school production not long before with better acting, and this project was on par with that community theater play.

Why would anybody post something this bad as their way to get noticed?  I found myself wondering.  They’re not being ironic.  They’re being so sincere it hurts . . . so why?

Because they couldn’t tell it was bad because it was their project, even though I’m willing to bet had it been somebody else’s project, they’d have spotted the flaws instantly.

It’s a surprisingly common occurrence when it comes to creative endeavors.

Tags: , ,


