Who Can Tell? (Part Six)

Now where was I?  Oh, yes, I remember now.

Truth be told, I tend to be overaware when it comes to the project I’m working on, which isn’t anywhere near a good thing.  What this means in practice is that I frequently break for the day knowing that I’m too close to what I’ve done to make a clear evaluation on quality, but convinced at the time that I did a terrible job.  It’s only when I look at it again with more detachment the next day that I usually end up deciding that I at least did an okay job after all.  (There are exceptions to this, of course.)

But over the course of the last several months, life has gotten crazier beyond any previous standards.  I’ve frequently been working while exhausted, trying to shoehorn my work time around the times when another exhausted adult in the house was available to take their turn guiding a three-year-old through the frequently noisy trials that are part of being three, and I knew this was having an effect on me and my work quality.

But, no matter how trite it is for me to say this, it remains true that for a time I had no idea just how much of an effect it was having.

Tags: , , ,


