Seat Belts Really DO Save Lives

Years ago I mentioned in passing my friend who felt that seat belt laws were “Communism.”  With equal provocation, over the weekend I found myself thinking of another friend from the same time period who was a firm, almost fanatical, believer in seat belts.  One day I asked him why.

“I flipped my truck once, rolled her three or four times before she came to a stop,” was his laconic reply.  “A seat belt saved my life.”

“I can see that,” I said with a nod.

“Not yet you don’t,” he chuckled.  “Yeah, my seat belt kept me from bein’ hurt, but it didn’t necessarily save my life.  The seat belt that kept my 300 pound buddy in his seat instead of squishin’ me like a grape, that saved my life!”

So wear your seat belts, kids . . . and make sure your friends do as well.

The life you save may be your own.

Tags: ,


