Still Waiting, But Here’s What I Know So Far

So Mom’s in the hospital due to irregular heartbeat (or atrial fibrillation if you want to get technical).  This is in no way a good thing, though the answer to the question “Is this an extremely bad thing?” has been (in order) “Yes,” then “No,” and finally “Maybe.”

Got to love those definite answers, so expect me to be a bit . . . distracted for a little while longer while this saga plays out.

As a positive note, though, Mom is well enough to be snarky to the doctor, informing him that if she needed to stay in the hospital longer, she would, but she was most defintely not there for “the bed and the food.”

(And yes, this means yesterday’s thought was from a song about waiting and taking it “to the heart” by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.  I swear I wasn’t trying to be cute with that, but that is honestly how my mind works, and I started humming that refrain as soon as I heard the news.)

(It’s a coping mechanism.)

Tags: , ,


