Now If I Could Just Find The Red Die

There’s a reason I don’t hold too tightly to the idea of “I know what I saw, and what I saw was real, end of discussion!”, and today I got a fresh reminder of why that is.

My son was looking for some missing dice, particularly a red one, so I checked the dice bag and saw a red die inside the dark bag.  Because I was in a hurry, without looking I set the “red” die beside the other dice and moved on, only to be called back because the red die was still missing.

“I sat it with the others,” I called out.  “Just look.”

“He’s right,” L’s Mother chimed in.  “There’s an orange die here now, but no red one.”

For some households, this would have been the beginning of a fight, but I had a suspicion of what had happened, and sure enough, the orange die looked demonstrably red when it was at the bottom of the dark dice bag.

Tags: , , , ,


