And I’ve Recently Realized That Since Becoming A Parent I’ve Been Distracted By A LOT Of Woodshed Projects

Some years ago my dad told me the story about a friend of his who asked his friend to go get a piece of wood from the woodpile so they could prop up a trailer they were working on.  Despite the relative simplicity of this request, my dad’s friend waited and waited for his friend to come back with the piece of wood.  Knowing that his friend was . . . prone to distraction, to put it kindly, my dad’s friend waited a long time, but eventually he went off to the woodpile himself to find out what the delay was.  He found his friend at the woodpile where he was busily planning an elaborate construction project.

What are you doing?” my dad’s friend asked him.

“I just realized I’ve got a lot of really nice wood in my woodpile this year, and it would be a shame if it got wet, so I’m building a woodshed,” he friend answered as if this was the most obvious thing in the world.

Tags: , , ,


