L’s First Road Trip (Part Five)

So while I slept in the other room, L’s Mother took one for the team and entertained L. until it was time for breakfast.  Surprisingly enough, breakfast turned out to be one of our trip’s highlights as the “free” breakfast the hotel provided for its guests turned out to be a source of marvel to L. (We don’t tend to do big breakfast spreads at home . . . not for breakfast, at least.), and even more people were treated to the announcement that this was L’s first time in CENTRAL Florida.

The field trip itself was a blur of several hours of L. running around with classmates he had only seen online prior to that moment.  Then it was time to get back in the car and for me to drive us the three hours home.

L. and his mother spent large chunks of the trip drifting in and out of almost sleep after their long morning/afternoon, so he did fine going back.  I had it a little rougher, but between L’s Mother letting me sleep that morning and Lala keeping me company while I drove, we made it back home fine and in decent spirits even with several traffic snarls delaying us along the way.  All in all, it was a good first road trip experience and I’m glad we did it.

I still miss my money though.

Tags: , ,


