So I’ll Just Have To Keep Doing My Best With The Time I’ve Got

Despite the fact that it started with my gaffe the other day, I’m actually glad I had the conversation that followed.  Admittedly some of this stems from the fact that I got in some good lines like, “I doubt any reader alive or dead has ever sat down a book and said, ‘Now that was one FANTASTIC word count of a story!'”, and that always make me happy.

But ego aside . . .

(Wait for it.  It takes time to move something that size, you know.)

. . . some really good points were raised in that conversation, and I might talk about them another time, but one point in particular struck a personal chord with me.

Pretty much by definition, when you’re writing you’re not spending time with your loved ones, and the concept of being a “writing widow/widower” will be familiar to anyone who has tried living with a writer.  After a six month hiatus I’m making time to write again, but I’d like to set aside a lot more time than I currently am, and truth be told I’m a little too okay with the idea of leaving a “writing widow” in my wake as I work.

But I won’t leave a “writing orphan.”

Tags: , ,


